Where do you knit?

You might know – or maybe not – that on Saturday is “World wide knit in public day”. Actually, it is not a day anymore, but a whole week is dedicated to knitting in public, this year from June 14-22. It is a relatively new institution, started only in 2005.

knit in public logo

Well now, I was trying to find a logo that encompasses the whole world, since it is called “World wide knit…” however, all I could find were logos dedicated to continents. Hmmm…

When I heard first of it, I wondered what was the big thing about that – being a knitter for most of my life I have knit in a lot of places that could be considered ‘public’. With the surge of knitting however and a lot of ‘new’ knitters around, the idea picked up and events were planned. Picnic in the park, sitting outside a Cafe on the sidewalk…you know, any place that is considered ‘public’ and where people can see you knit.

I still don’t know how I feel about it, since I have been lugging around knitting for years and, as I said, have been knitting on the train, at the doctor’s office, at birthdays of friends, wherever it seemed that I would have a lot of time and nothing to do with my hands. I even brought my knitting to school as a teenager (okay, only a few times since nobody at that age wants to be considered ‘not cool’) and to friend’s houses.

What I realize now is that I mostly was the only person knitting ‘in public’, usually there was no other knitter around. Knitting was done at home, in private. This changed when it became the thing to do; knitting all of a sudden was considered ‘cool’. (Well, I guess there are still a few people who haven’t gotten the memo yet. please do forgive them.)

So what makes this day so popular among knitters? I think it is the sense of community that you have when sitting down with other people who enjoy the craft as much as yourself rather than trying to convert the rest of the world to become knitters, too. Doesn’t mean we cannot try…

Happy knitting, as ever!

- Mona

8 responses to Where do you knit?

  1. Laura Cesari

    I have been knitting in public for many, many years also. I have taken my small projects to work (lunch and break times), doctor’s appointments, road trips/flights, soccer and hockey games, hospital waiting rooms …

  2. Gloria Ronalds

    Love the idea of knitting everywhere around the world…it’s like having instant friends everywhere…an immediate common bond… it unifies us…just people doing what they love, relaxing and creating and chatting about it. KNIT ON!!!

  3. On a trip to China about one decade ago, I sat on a bench at the Bund in Shanghai. There were lots of elderly Chinese women passing by and most of them started to smile when they saw me knitting. One of them even approached and pulled out a knitting project – and after much laughter and appriciative nods we exchanged our projects and each knitted one row before handing it back …. a beautiful bond was formed requiring no other language than knitting!

    • That is an amazing story! I knit in public all the time as well and I’m always attracting attention for it, especially from women older than myself. They find it so strange that someone so young does something they also enjoy. It’s a great way to make connections across generations and across language barriers as well, apparently!

  4. I am not shy about knitting in public at all. When I started knitting in high school, I would bring my projects to class all the time. I knit on planes, in coffee shops, trains, in the lunch room at work, and basically anywhere I have to wait. Currently, my knitting group meets in a bar ( we are a drinking group with a knitting problem haha), which it always a fun time. I am glad to see it is now a week rather than a day. Pick up your needles guys and gals and get knitting!

  5. Christina Tibblin

    I too have knit while waiting: ballet lessons, voice lessons, guitar lessons, play rehearsals, doctor and dentist appointments, at the hospital, at the mall, on planes and during one car ride (got nauseated… :( ). I have found it to be a great icebreaker, especially when knitting two socks at a time, toe-up. Young and old seem fascinated by the process. One little girl, in particular, was amazed at how the shawl I was making was made from one long string of yarn! What I have loved the best about knitting though is the new friends it has brought into my life.

  6. Shelley ross

    I have been knitting in public since I stared knitting in the early 1980’s because I wanted to take advantage of the spare time to knit and did not want to waste valuable time doing nothing. I stil carry a knitting project with every where I go.

    On June 20 th I will be joining several knitters on the Chichimon ferry on Georgin Bay (South bay Mouth to Tobemory and back ) for the day, just one of events planned by the Espanola Fibre Arts Festival for knit public week in the Espanola area.

  7. Hello, je suis française et je participe à la Journée Mondiale du Tricot le 14 juin. J’ai créé un club de tricot dans ma ville de Saintes où il y a une très bonne ambiance. Demain nous partagerons cette aventure qu’est le tricot. Amitiés de Fine.

    Translation :
    Hello, I am French and I participate in the World Day of the Knitting on June 14th. I created a knitting club in my city of Saintes (Charente Maritime) where there is a very good atmosphere. Tomorrow we shall share this adventure that is the knitting. Best regards.

    http://tricosaintes.blogspot.fr/

Leave a Reply

