Twisted

Hello again. Yes, I am fully aware that it has been five weeks since I blogged last – however, to me it does not feel that long. I have done a lot in the meantime: packed up and moved, went away to TNNA and tried to get the act of the internet and phone together (which is a story I don’t want to bore you with). In order of the good, bad and ugly: TNNA was good, really good, moving was not really bad, moving in by way of unpacking and organizing is, and the really ugly thing is the phone problem.

While at TNNA we took a day-long class with Cat Bordhi (who is an exceptional knitter, an enthusiastic teacher and a delightful person) to learn seven things that make us a better knitter and I thought I’d share one of them. A few of them I have actually already talked about (this, this and this, for example), another one is similar to what I do, so you might wonder did I learn anything at all? Indeed, I did. I learned, well, one and a half new techniques. The one I have to try if it works to my satisfaction (why yes, I am a doubting Thomas), the half was a different version of what I already knew.

While taking the class we actually knit a whole project in which all the techniques are applied. The pattern included what I like to call ‘mini’ cables, because you only twist two stitches. This means when it comes to cabling it can be quite cumbersome to use a cable needle, slip one stitch onto the cable needle,  hold it in front or back of your knitting, knit the next and then the one from the cable needle…you see, even the explanation for this process seems long and you only want to cross two stitches!

As with every cable, there are two ways of working them: the left twist and the right twist. Meaning one time the first stitch gets crossed over in front, the other in the back, giving each cable a distinct look. I am going to show you how to work them without a cable needle and hence without the hassle!

Right Twist

IMG_8749

Here we are, ready to twist the next two stitches.

IMG_8750

Insert your needle into two stitches knitwise.

IMG_8751

Take them off the left hand needle.

IMG_8753

Slip them back onto the left hand needle.

IMG_8754IMG_8755 IMG_8756

Then knit one after the other through the back loop.

IMG_8757

There, one Right Twist done!

 

Left Twist

IMG_8759

Ready to do the Left Twist.

IMG_8761

Insert your needle into the back of the second stitch on the left hand needle.

IMG_8762

Knit that stitch into the back loop.

IMG_8763

Now knit the first stitch on the left hand needle the regular way.

IMG_8764

Then slip both stitches just knit from left hand needle.

IMG_8766

There. A Left Twist without a cable needle.

I do not know if you plan on knitting anything with mini cables anytime soon, just remember this little tutorial when the time comes…

Happy Knitting, as ever!

– Mona

4 thoughts on “Twisted

  1. Crafty grandma says:

    You read my mind! with this sudden heat wave and humidity, I have decided to work on my son’s afghan which was supposed to be have been one of his Xmas gifts last year. I was reading the directions when I realized that some of the strips are basketweave (which I am doing) and the other strips are mini cables|! My objective was to find a tut for this and I happened to check my email and voila! there was your tutorial…. now if only someone could send me the winning lottery numbers!!!! LOL!!! merci beaucoup for the tut! much appreciated!!!🙂

Leave a Reply

