Hey, Listen!

I am a TV knitter. Just sitting in front of the TV without doing anything is just such a waste of time, especially when you do not have a lot of it to spare. Lately I find I do not watch much TV anymore, I am just not interested in what is on.

I am also a reader. I like to read. However, reading a book and knitting at the same time is awkward, even I cannot really deal with that. Now, remember when you were little and some kind soul would read a story to you? That still works for me! Audiobooks are great, especially when you download the content on a phone or i-Pod so you can listen where ever you go and whatever you do.

I use audible.com (no, I do not get paid anything for telling you that), I like the convenience of how it is set up. For a monthly membership you get one credit and for the credit you can get a book. As a member you also  pay less for all the other offered books. This works for me, especially since I am a repeat offender, meaning I like to listen to the same book again (not back to back of course, but some time later), just the way I do with books I enjoyed reading myself.

A while ago I downloaded the Game of Thrones series (really, where is the 6th book?) and the first book unabridged gets you 33 hours and 50 minutes of listening  knitting time – that is a lot!

Now I just have to find a way to knit AND type at the same time on the computer…hey, how did that voice control thingie work again….?

Happy Knitting, as ever!

– Mona

7 thoughts on “Hey, Listen!

  1. Natalia Carreiro says:

    Thanks Mona,
    I will definately check that out.
    Yeah !!!

    Natalia Carreiro,
    Courtier, Assurances des particuliers, Comptes V.I.P.
    Broker, Personal LInes, V.I.P. Accounts
    [http://www.essor.ca/files/images/template/ATT00855.gif]
    Assurances-Placements-Conseils Inc.
    1100, rue University, 6e Étage, Montréal (Québec) H3B 3A5
    Tél.: (514) 878-4166 Téléc.: (514) 878-4212 Courriel: natalia.carreiro@essor.ca
    Visitez-nous régulièrement sur Essor.ca !
    P Est-ce vraiment nécessaire d’imprimer ce courriel ?
    Is it really necessary to print this e-mail?

  2. suzetteg2013 says:

    way ahead of you on that one and Game of Thrones..got that ..thanks for reminding me..adio books are great and as far as typing and knitting..put knitting down and type fast🙂

  3. Shirley says:

    Great idea. I’m like. Can stand to sit in front of the “idiot box” & watch unless I’m knitting. Just a waste of good knitting time.

  4. Helen says:

    thank you – I too am a tv knitter & agree about the lack of interesting programs – I shall have to look into audio books .As for Game of Thrones, I am in the midst of watching Season 1 on dvd ;>)

  5. Caroline says:

    For knitting and reading at the same time, I use a book weight. It’s a weighted bookmark that you put on your book to keep it open. I got mine at Haslam’s Book Store in St.Pete, FL. But there are also some on Amazon, and I saw some at Ares too (for recipe books).

Leave a Reply

