Running Out Of Steam

The last few weeks at the store have left us a bit breathless. If you’ve been in, you know why! The ‘knitting season’ has started and it has been very busy. Indeed, not only that but the steady influx of new yarn added to the frenzy. In a good way, since we really enjoy bringing in the yarns we love to knit with and so fan out the delight to our customers.

However, being at a busy store, teaching at night, trying to get a house in order (man, if someone had told me before how much work it can be…) and squeezing in as much time as I might to spend with my daughter who has started kindergarten this year, seems to have taken a toll.

I got nothing. No special technique to show, no picture tutorial, no idea what I could talk about.

Then again, are you interested in what I am knitting? That’s pretty much I have today. And, wait for it, the whole project is knit in garter. Sounds pretty boring, eh? Well, all I can say is that it is perfect for my momentary state of mind and garter can be soothing for frayed nerves.

IMG_9084

This is not even a good picture. The light was practically gone and I needed to use the flash. BUT, it is the Moderne Log Cabin Blanket by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne. A better picture will follow once I am done!

I am knitting the Moderne Log Cabin Blanket as a cover for my daughter’s bed. The colours are picked to go with the rest of the room, of course. I am using Cascade Eco and Eco +. A 100% wool Aran weight yarn I love to work with.

The original pattern is knit in a DK weight, I thought by using an Aran I would get a good size for a twin bed, however, I had to scale back, otherwise it would become too wide. The length might just work, I will know by the end of the next garter stripe. It is a bit weird how addictive it is, but working on one stripe I keep thinking: “oh, just so and so many rows more and I can pick up the next!”

For once, I am working on only one project at a time. (I do have several, ten a few more on the needles, neglected in my knitting basket…)

Happy knitting, as ever!

– Mona

3 thoughts on “Running Out Of Steam

  1. Chantal Boissinot says:

    You are accomplishing quite a lot, no wonder you don’t have much time to knit. I also find garter stitch very relaxing and there is so much you can do with it. Really nice blanket.

  2. Frankie says:

    Nice work. I have to ask, since I am also knitting a blanket that requires a gazillion pick-up stitches; when, if ever, and how often do you block? Granted, my pieces used different stitches, but, wow, what a headache in getting all the pieces to lie flat and not pulled in or too wide. Perhaps if I used a wool yarn instead of acrylic it would work better. But caring for woolen blankets is apparently too much work for some people who shall remain nameless.

    • Mona says:

      Hello Frankie,

      since this is garter stitch which lies flat anyways I do not have to block. (Another plus for this project, if you ask me.) However, if you combine a lot of different stitch patterns, squares in different sizes, you definitely want to block before assembly. Either steam block (not if using acrylic!!) or wet block to make the pieces lie nice and flat and seaming or any other work will be much easier.
      I hope this helps!

      Best,
      Mona

Leave a Reply

