I Learned Something New This Week

In preparation of a class I started knitting the Fiddlehead Mittens and first reading the pattern I was a bit taken aback by the I-cord Cast-on. As usual, reading a pattern does not do much for me, I have to actually do it to really get it.

Once I figured it out I realized that this Cast-on has a lot of possibilities. I had never seen or used it before, I might do so more often in the future. It gives a really neat edge, and offers a different edge solution for the adventurous knitter.

Other than with I-cord you do not even have to use double pointed needles, since it is worked by slipping stitches back to the left-hand needle instead of to the other end of the dpn. (If you have worked I-cord already you know what I am talking about, if not, you’ll find out soon enough!

1. Cast on 3 stitches.

2. Knit into the front and back of the first st, then knit the remaining 2 sts.

IMG_9165

IMG_9166

3. Slip 3 stitches back to the left hand needle, one remains on the right hand needle = first cast-on stitch!

IMG_9167

4. Repeat step 2.

IMG_9168

IMG_9169

5. Repeat step 3 – except that now you have 2 sts sitting on the right hand needle.

Cast on the required amount of stitches by repeating step 4 and 5, plus 2 – meaning if you want to cast on 30 stitches, there should be 32 on the needle when you are done.

IMG_9170

Now turn work.

Here I think I veered off pattern a bit, but since I liked what I got I’ll tell you my version: Bind off one stitch by slipping the first stitch purlwise, then purl the next, pass the slipped stitch over the just purled one, then slip that stitch back onto the left hand needle.

IMG_9173

 Purl two together.

IMG_9174

Now you are ready to do whatever you want to do next!

IMG_9175

Happy Knitting, as ever!

– Mona

2 thoughts on “I Learned Something New This Week

  1. Joy O'Donnell says:

    Oh,this looks so pretty! Like you, though, I’m going to have to try to do it to understand, but your instructions look nice and clear, as usual, Mona. Thanks so much

  2. Lynn Desjardins says:

    Hi Mona, The pattern was confusing when it came to the final bind off stitch and purl two together. Your instructions are nice and clear. I have knit two pairs of these now and am starting a third. Just to let you know, I found I had to decrease the number of stitches for the lining mitts by 2, even with the smaller sized yarn and needles. It’s a really fun project. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did. Lynn

Leave a Reply

