Free pattern Friday: Log Cabin Blanket

free_logcabin

(Photo credits: This beautiful version was knit by jettshin for her son)

Learn to Knit a Log Cabin Blanket by Staci Perry is a stunning project that’s perfect for using up your worsted weight leftovers or, if you’re anything like me, makes you want to get your pencil crayons out and design your colour scheme entirely from scratch and purchase all new yarn!  My son has two small blankets that he has been attached to since he was 9 months old – he’s 9 now and the passage of time is writ large on the the sad tatters his “blankies” have become. He’s nowhere near ready to give them up but I’m thinking that it might be nice to work this blanket up for his 10th birthday.  This will be an heirloom – something he can take with him when he moves away from home and creates his own (ack, the thought!).  Staci’s pattern is clearly written and includes links to a six-part video tutorial.

I haven’t decided on yarn yet but I think hand-dyed superwash merino options from Tanis Fiber Arts or Madelinetosh are the way I’m leaning. More soon…

Who wants to join me?

– Melissa

2 thoughts on “Free pattern Friday: Log Cabin Blanket

  1. Jules O says:

    This is indeed a stunning blanket here, & looking at the pattern, I think you could twist my arm in joining you!!! Though it would be a long term project I think!! I do have yarn that is more stash yarn, than scraps that I could use for it! How will we know if you are doing a KAL? “9crafty11” on Ravelry

Leave a Reply

