2014 Knitting Goals: What’s in your queue?

As January chugged on by at alarming speed (wasn’t it just Christmas?) I noticed that I had set no specific goals for the year. I know myself and that I am most productive when I have deadlines and targets to work towards. It’s not that I’m unproductive otherwise, it’s just that I’m easily distracted and prone to spreading myself thin which, let’s face it, doesn’t always result in a cohesive or particularly spectacular body of work.  This year, I’ve decided it might be a good idea to put my objectives (aspirations?) for 2014 “out there”. I’m making lists and taping them to my walls and fridge, I’m de-cluttering and simplifying, I’m figuring out what will make me feel happy and accomplished at the end of the year. Among the lists I’ve tackled so far is the one outlining my personal knitting goals. Lisa and I are always working up store samples – which we love to do – but it means that knitting for ourselves and our loved ones usually gets deprioritized. This year, in addition to store projects, I would love to dip a little deeper into the area of knitwear design (I have so many ideas…!), set up my loom and finally learn how to weave, and knit several personal projects.  An ambitious list given everything else on my plate but it’s only January and I’m optimistic! By sharing my knitting list, I am also ensuring that I feel a tiny bit responsible for providing updates which will hopefully help me stay focused.

Melissa’s 2014 Personal Knitting Queue (project names and links are listed below):

2014_queue

Row 1

Gale by Alicia Plummer (Photo: AliciaPlum)
Terra by Jared Flood (Photo: butterfly67)

Row 2

Log Cabin Blanket by Stacy Perry (Photo: jettshin) – for my boy
Slade by Michele Wang (Photo: Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed) – for my man

Row 3

Fate by Kim Hargreaves (Photo: Kim Hargreaves)
Shading by Monika Lehner (Photo: Studio215/Monika Lehner)

Row 4

Afton by Jared Flood (Photo: Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed)
Camomille by Helga Isager (Photo: FarWestLogbook)

So, what’s in your queue?

– Melissa

6 thoughts on “2014 Knitting Goals: What’s in your queue?

  1. Erica Hebel says:

    At this point, my queue is longer than Lindsay Lohan’s rap sheet… and still growing! I am finishing up Bulle (a tunic for my daughter) and then will move on to the Age of Brass and Steam, a lovely shawl I saw at Espace Tricot. I bought Tanis Fibre Arts DK in Shadow for my winter version and some Habu for my summer version. After that, a sweater for me (Antler). s it stands, my queue should keep me knitting well into my 90s.

  2. shelley nordin says:

    Hi Melissa. Just thought I’d let you know that some of the links are incorrect – specifically “Shading” and “Camomille”.

  3. stephanie says:

    I am also trying to stay true to my many projects that I have been eyeing and now thanks to you I just added another one, Fate. Thanks!haha

  4. Tara says:

    That’s a lovely group of projects you have there. In Melbourne this week it’s going to be 41C which is about 106 degrees fahrenheit and I just can’t begin to plan year’s worth of knitting in that heat! I’ll be sure to get back to you though😉

Leave a Reply

