Still Not Pastry

When I posted about Brioche knitting, someone left a question if this stitch could be worked in two colors. (Whoever asked, I am very sorry that I cannot seem to find your comment!) Here is the answer: Yes, you can.

For a small moment I considered leaving it at that and just telling you that I will be away next week, meaning blogging will most probably re-commence on May 8th, after we’re all back from TNNA, where Melissa, Lisa and I are going to find you fabulous new yarns for the next Fall/Winter season, but I guess I would be in trouble if I did not explain the ‘how’ behind the ‘yes’.

It is quite the coincidence that I had my eye on a two-color Brioche pattern called ‘Churros’ by Lisa R. Meyers for Manos del Uruguay yarns, using ‘Fino’, a silk/wool blend I have a crush on. We have had this yarn for more than a year, and I only now discovered how beautiful it really is, and how enjoyable it is to knit. Crush, I am telling you!

Churros Close-upClose-up of the two-color Brioche Churros. (Image ©Fairmount Fibers, from here.)

I was not supposed to start a new project (before finishing something else), but for the greater good (meaning the educational content, of course) I am willing to sacrifice my self-imposed restrictions and go ahead.

Here is something that might surprise you: While I have knit Brioche before, the two-color version is a new technique for me. I have never tried this before. There. See, even I am not done learning.

This is how I found out that other than the single colored Brioche this one includes purling, slipping stitches and yarn-overs. You also have to work your project on a circular needle, because you need to slide the knitting back and forth to be able to knit with the two colors alternately.

As with any other Brioche pattern I highly recommend to avoid mistakes. They are a bit tricky to fix. Your best bet is going back stitch by stitch.

For people who carry their yarn on the right hand (‘throwers’) it also involves bringing your yarn back and forth a lot. Think seed stitch, for comparison.

The pattern consists of only 4 rows, which are worked in a different order: 2 rows form the RS, then 2 rows from the WS.

 

Two-color Brioche stitch (odd number of sts)

With CC (contrast color), cast-on odd number of sts. Work Set-up row (WS) as follows: K1, *bring yarn forward, slip 1 pwise, yo, k1. Repeat from * to end of row.

Row 1 (RS): With MC (main color), k1, *knit slipped st together with yo, bring yarn forward, slip 1 pwise, yo. Repeat from * to last 2 sts, knit slipped st tog with yo, k1. Slide sts back to other end of needle.

Row 2 (RS): With CC, p1, *bring yarn forward, slip 1 pwise, yo, purl slipped stitch together with yo. Repeat from * to last 2 sts, purl slipped st tog with yo, p1. Turn work.

Row 3 (WS): With MC, p1, *purl slipped st tog with yo, bring yarn forward, slip 1 pwise, yo. Repeat from * to last 2 sts, purl slipped st tog with yo, p1. Slide sts back to other end of needle.

Row 4 (WS): With CC, k1, *bring yarn forward, slip 1 pwise, yo, knit slipped stitch together with yo. Repeat from * to last 2 sts, knit slipped st tog with yo, k1. Turn work.

 

While this is an easy technique, it might turn out, ahem, a bit tedious. (I am only one inch into the pattern and can already tell.) However, I do love the result!

IMG_9591This is how the stitches including the yarn overs sit on the needles.

IMG_9593Slipping a stitch with a yarn over. Very important, every second stitch is worked that way.

IMG_9594Knitting the stitch together with a yarn over. When pattern instructs to purl, purl them together.

Happy knitting, as ever – and see you in two weeks!

– Mona

One thought on “Still Not Pastry

  1. Natalia Carreiro says:

    Hi ,
    I need to change my e-mail address.
    Please advise how I may do os.
    Thanks

    Natalia Carreiro,
    Courtier, Assurances des particuliers, Comptes V.I.P.
    Broker, Personal LInes, V.I.P. Accounts
    [http://www.essor.ca/files/images/template/ATT00855.gif]
    Assurances-Placements-Conseils Inc.
    1100, rue University, 6e Étage, Montréal (Québec) H3B 3A5
    Tél.: (514) 878-4166 Téléc.: (514) 878-4212 Courriel: natalia.carreiro@essor.ca
    Visitez-nous régulièrement sur Essor.ca !
    P Est-ce vraiment nécessaire d’imprimer ce courriel ?
    Is it really necessary to print this e-mail?

Leave a Reply

