Knot True!*

*A sentiment that you might have while reading this post.

Hello there. I’m back. We went to TNNA (it was great!) and I do hope you are going to enjoy the new yarns that will be coming in for Fall – and yes, I know. How can you even begin to think about Fall when we only had a few weeks of nice and warm weather here in Montreal? So let’s concentrate on other things for now.

Wall of Koigu

If you have been to Espace Tricot, you’ll probably know our ‘Wall of Koigu’ (while at TNNA we’ve ordered a few more shades). We do love a good splash of colour, and knitting with the KPPPM (Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino) is pure joy. Last year at TNNA we ordered the 10m skeinettes, hoping you all would be inspired to use them in your knitting too, adding some bright colors here and there.

This year at TNNA I saw something I could not resist to try myself. The ingenious Koigu people took 12 mini-skeins and knit a little cowl, choosing colors that blend and work really well together. I was intrigued. After coming back I put 12 skeins in order – so much fun in itself! – and got knitting. I made sure the connecting skeins had a colour in common, so they would indeed blend. However, since this hand-dyed yarn, you don’t know what you’ll get before you start knitting.

IMG_9598

This is so much fun, and awfully addictive since there are only 10 m to knit up and I feel I cannot wait to start the next colour!

Now, having only 10 m of yarn and that twelve times – that means 24 ends to weave in. NOT fun. I got thinking. And then I did something that I usually, under any other circumstances, really not do. I made knots. Yes, you read that right. I knotted the ends together.

Thanks to Jane Richmond  (a Canadian designer whose designs we are often drawn to) and Lisa, who tried it first, I figured out the way of joining these mini skeinettes without having to sew in a lot of ends – and thus getting more out of the yarn, too. Check her video here. It is really well explained and I can attest that it works. (Other than she says in the description of the video I will say that the knot is NOT invisible, but rather BARELY visible, especially in a very colourful yarn!)

When I did it for the first time, I kind of started hyperventilating – I mean, if you know me at all, you’ll know that I DO NOT MAKE KNOTS in my knitting. I guess there is an exception to every self-imposed rule, and you are welcome to it!

Disclaimer: I am not saying that you should always knot your yarns together from now on, all I am saying is to choose the method of joining according to your project. This time knots were the way to go.

Happy Knitting, as ever!

– Mona

4 thoughts on “Knot True!*

  1. Chantal says:

    Could you have felted the ends together? It works only with 100% wool yarn that hasn’t been treated. I did it with Noro yarn in a scarf. It worked so well and looked great.

    • Mona says:

      It really depends on the yarn you use. Koigu is 100% wool but has a very tight spin. That makes the splicing a bit more difficult. That is why I chose the knots!

Leave a Reply

