I Need To Talk About Yarn

If you think ‘well, that is nothing new’ you’d be right. However, yours truly has been selected to be a member of the Shibui Spark program and we are suffiently encouraged (free yarn, need I say more?) to talk about the yarns we are knitting with. And you know how much I love to talk about yarn!

Incidentally we have received a delivery of Shibui Staccato at the store last week, finally put up on the shelf this week after doing inventory at the weekend. I say incidentally because, you might have already guessed it, that is what I am knitting with – double stranded with Silk Cloud. This mix has elicited a lot of ‘oooohs’ and ‘aaaahs’ when first met at TNNA this year, it was therefore a reason we thought we just had to have the Staccato in the store, just to be able to combine it with the Silk Cloud.

Having said that, the Staccato on its own is a wonderfully soft yarn and lovely to knit with. At a fingering weight I can see a lot of shawls being knit! I have difficulty choosing just one colour, there are so many pretty ones. I am sure you’ll agree wholeheartedly once you’ve seen and touched the yarn. It is made from 70% superwash merino and 30% silk, and silk/wool blends are forever on my favourite list.

Yes, I am fully aware that I am gushing – but it is the truth and nothing but the truth. I even schlepped my knitting to the park in almost 30° C heat. If that is not love, tell me what is!

photoOh, you want to know what I am actually working on? It is the Mix 34 – a textured cowl with an entertaining pattern.

(picture from here)

Apart from the Staccato and Silk Cloud we also have the Pebble (new colours!) and Linen (I am knitting a sweater with that) in store – come check it out, I am sure you won’t regret it!

Happy Knitting, as ever!

– Mona

3 thoughts on “I Need To Talk About Yarn

  1. Natalia Carreiro says:

    So beautifule, where can I get that patten

    Natalia Carreiro,
    Courtier, Assurances des particuliers, Comptes V.I.P.
    Broker, Personal LInes, V.I.P. Accounts
    [http://www.essor.ca/files/images/template/ATT00855.gif]
    Assurances-Placements-Conseils Inc.
    1100, rue University, 6e Étage, Montréal (Québec) H3B 3A5
    Tél.: (514) 878-4166 Téléc.: (514) 878-4212 Courriel: natalia.carreiro@essor.ca
    Visitez-nous régulièrement sur Essor.ca !
    P Est-ce vraiment nécessaire d’imprimer ce courriel ?
    Is it really necessary to print this e-mail?

Leave a Reply

