Something Other Than Knitting

The Holidays are near, and I do not know about you but I am all knit out. Looks like I am going to get all my gifts done on time (hopefully) and with luck everyone who gets something I made is going to like it.

So,  with the knitting all dandy, there is something else that I have been trying to get a grip on  and never really managed: Cookies! Baking cookies for Christmas is a big thing in Germany and I used to bake with my Mom all the time, here I just seem not to be able to actually do it. However, there is usually some holiday baking going on and last year I discovered a recipe that is already a staple in my kitchen.

IMG_9758

Cranberries are such a North-American thing, they are not well known in Europe, if at all. Not to speak of buying them fresh at the market. I do love them, though, and this recipe is another one of the reasons why. I love it so much that I thought I’d share:

Recipe from here at thekitchn.com

Cranberry Cake

Makes one 10-inch springform cake. Alternately: Four 4-cup loaves or 24 to 30 cupcakes.

3 large eggs
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsalted butter, cubed and softened at room temperature for 1 hour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon almond extract, optional
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups cranberries (12-ounce bag)

Optional pecan topping:
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 cup pecans, unroasted

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 10-inch spring form pan (or a collection of smaller pans. This make 10 to 12 cups of batter.)

Use a stand mixer or hand beaters to beat the eggs and sugar until very smooth and increased in volume. If using a stand mixer, beat on medium speed for 4 to 7 minutes, using the whip attachment. If using hand beaters, beat on high speed for 6 to 8 minutes. The egg and sugar mixture will double in volume and turn very pale yellow, leaving ribbons on top of the batter when you lift the beaters.

Beat in the butter, vanilla, and almond extract, if using. Beat for 2 minutes or until the butter is smoothly incorporated.

Use a spatula to fold in the flour, salt, and cranberries. The batter will be quite thick. Spread gently into the prepared pan.

To prepare the optional pecan topping, heat the butter in a sauté pan over medium heat. Add the sugar and stir. Add the pecans and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring, until the butter and sugar mixture is shiny and smooth and the nuts are well-coated with the butter and sugar. Spread over the cake batter.

Bake 60 to 80 minutes for the springform. For smaller pans, start checking after 30 minutes, but expect small loaves to take at least 40 minutes. Tent the cake with foil in the last 30 minutes of baking to keep the top from browning (this is especially important for the pecan topping).

Cool for 20 minutes then run a knife around the inside edge of the pan and remove the cake. Cool for an hour before serving.

The cake keeps and freezes well. To store, wrap the fully cooled cake tightly in plastic wrap and leave in a dry, cool place for up to 1 week.

To freeze, wrap the fully cooled cake in plastic wrap and then foil. Freeze for up to 2 months. Thaw overnight at room temperature, still wrapped.

 

I have made this cake a lot last Christmastime, and then at Thanksgiving again – practically whenever I can find fresh Cranberries at the store. I have also made it with frozen ones, it works well if you just throw them in the batter frozen. I have never tried the pecan topping, I like this cake without it so much that every other addition would not improve the experience, but I do insist on the almond extract, it adds a lot of flavour.

I do not have any picture, mostly because the cake was eaten before I remembered to take one….

Happy Knitting Baking, as ever!

– Mona

 

7 thoughts on “Something Other Than Knitting

  1. Natalia Carreiro says:

    Thanks, will definately try it over the holidays.
    Merry Christmas

    Natalia Carreiro,
    Courtier, Assurances des particuliers, Comptes V.I.P.
    Broker, Personal LInes, V.I.P. Accounts
    [http://www.essor.ca/files/images/template/ATT00855.gif]
    Assurances-Placements-Conseils Inc.
    1100, rue University, 6e Étage, Montréal (Québec) H3B 3A5
    Tél.: (514) 878-4166 Téléc.: (514) 878-4212 Courriel: natalia.carreiro@essor.ca
    Visitez-nous régulièrement sur Essor.ca !
    P Est-ce vraiment nécessaire d’imprimer ce courriel ?
    Is it really necessary to print this e-mail?

  2. priscilla lefebvre says:

    I know this is cheating but for Xmas I mite make this  

    From: Espace Tricot Blog To: priscilladesign@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, December 18, 2014 4:18 PM Subject: [New post] Something Other Than Knitting #yiv2380830256 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2380830256 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2380830256 a.yiv2380830256primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2380830256 a.yiv2380830256primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2380830256 a.yiv2380830256primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2380830256 a.yiv2380830256primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2380830256 WordPress.com | Mona posted: “The Holidays are near, and I do not know about you but I am all knit out. Looks like I am going to get all my gifts done on time (hopefully) and with luck everyone who gets something I made is going to like it.So,  with the knitting all dandy, there i” | |

  3. momopudding2013 says:

    Dear Mona, that’s the same recipe that my mom used to make every Christmas for my father. She used to put pecans into the batter , I think I need to make some this year! Thanks for reminding me of it, my mom’s family is from Saskatchewan so it’s a good old Canadian favorite!

  4. Pam says:

    Thanks, Mona. We all loved it. And I even have a small 6-inch round in the freezer as a pick-me-up on a day when we need it.

  5. Joëlle Soriano says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. A big success, even with the fussy teenagers. I replaced some of the butter by yogurt to ad some moisture.

Leave a Reply

