Easter Bonnets, of a sort

Four “Big Easy” hats came off the needles this week for my son and some of his friends. I’ve knit this pattern from Vivian Aubrey more than a dozen times now and the more I knit it, the more the circle widens and the requests roll in. Adults and kids alike love the combination of head-hugging rib and stockinette slouch. After seeing one or another of my son’s hats, all of these kids asked me for a version in their chosen colours and this weekend’s egg-hunt provided a motivating deadline. They loved them!

I began with the smaller hat size (casting on 84 sts) but, for added slouch factor, knit to the length of the larger version (8 inches) before beginning the decreases.  All are made with Madelinetosh Vintage in Tern, Betty Draper’s Blues, and Onyx.

IMG_3391

IMG_3400

IMG_3398

IMG_3399

And because I was uber-Mom this week, I also crafted another little surprise for the day – hard-boiled eggheads. This was a super fun and simple project from A Subtle Revelry. Be sure to bookmark it for next year.🙂

eggheads

– Melissa

One thought on “Easter Bonnets, of a sort

Leave a Reply

