Your Knitting Year in Review

In the end, 2015 did not prove to be my most productive knitting year to date. I found myself casting things on, changing my mind, and putting things aside to hibernate more than usual.  I felt a little scattered and distracted, not quite on my game – it was a crazy year on multiple fronts. That said, I was always knitting something (true knitters need to knit – no matter what!), despite the false starts and occasional project disenchantment… I spent a little time picking my personal favourites in the PROJECTS section of our Ravelry account this morning; this is where we post all of our store samples which are either knit by myself or Lisa or which we commission various of our consultants to knit for us.  After review, I must say I did feel better about my 2015 track record. Considering your finished projects as a collection can be gratifying and can be an especially helpful exercise if you want to set specific goals for the coming year. In 2015, I can see I gravitated towards projects that were soothing to knit and not hugely challenging. As I look forward to 2016, however, I see more colourwork (fair isle), cabled texture, and an increased focus on garments in my future. What about you? Do you keep a “favourites” list? Do you set annual goals? Let us know what you’re planning for 2016 – we’d love to hear!

–  Melissa

Click images for project details on Ravelry.

Traverso Due

traverso_due5

Simple Lines

simple_lines_4

Garter Gaiter

garter_gaiter4

Exploration Station

sw_exploration4

Hamlin Peak

hamlin_8

LAKESIDE ANNIVERSARY WRAP

lakeside_anniversary4

Linier Top

linier5

Match & Move

match_move_9

Color Craving

color_craving9

Fancy Zebra

zebra1

Melissa Scarf

malou_melissa3

12 thoughts on “Your Knitting Year in Review

  1. Diane says:

    J’ai commencé à tricoter l’année passée. Je me suis prise au jeu et j’adore ca. je me suis rendue compte que plus çà va plus j’ai de projets. Je ne suis pas toujours satisfaite de certains résultats, alors je défais et je recommence.J’aimerais être super bonne et tout connaître du tricot, mais j’ai aussi appris que tricoter égale patience. Chose certaine, tricoter a eu l’effet d’une thérapie sur moi. Après avoir connu une grosse perte, le tricot m’a réappris à sourire. Mon mari n’en revient pas de voir à quel point le bonheur est revenu dans ma vie et, le tricot en est en partie responsable. Merci les filles de votre support, votre bonne humeur et votre générosité ! Vive Espace Tricot !

  2. Lucky Lucy says:

    I think you really did quite a bit and each piece is stunning in its own right. I can’t wait to see what comes in 2016. I am a new knitter, even though I have dabbled for years. I have set up a barter system with an expert…she will teach me the right way to do things. Happy New Year!

  3. carol marshall says:

    Fabulous, I think I managed some more socks! My 2016 plan is to sort the stash and give each yarn a project so now EXPLORATION STATION and COLOUR CRAVING are definitely on my list. Thanks for the inspiration, so glad I found your blog.

  4. Christine says:

    I have been a fan of this blog for a long time. I always like seeing your choice of yarn for each project…it’s very helpful. I look forward to seeing what you knit in 2016.

  5. kib kib says:

    You knit all those in one year? I better speed up. I’m sure I finished more than I remember – a bulky neck triangle, two pairs of adult socks some baby socks and a zip-up-the-back- hooded jacket for my new grandniece. I have too many projects on the go and maybe what I should do is finish more of them before I’m in a panic to knit something else for a gift!

Leave a Reply

