Mark your Calendars: Mitered Square Patchwork Blanket Workshop – January 29th

patchwork_koigu1

Ah, Koigu! From the very first time I set foot in a knitting store I fell in love with the Koigu wall. Such beautiful colours, such a strong yet supple texture, such a perfect yarn for so many projects!  Needless to say, when Melissa and I opened our shop, Koigu was the first must-have yarn on both of our lists. Our budget was tight, however, so when placing our first order we kept our heads and asked the company to send us just 16 assorted Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM) colourways. Our husbands built a pegboard wall, which was completed just in time to receive our first shipment. We then spent an agonizing evening deciding where to place each of those 16 precious colourways! Fast forward to our new location and our Koigu wall has grown to accommodate more than 160 (!) KPPPM and KPM colourways. At this point, in order to preserve our sanity, we no longer worry about placement, that wall is a thing of beauty no matter the order of the colours.🙂

Wall of Koigu

From my first Koigu KPPPM project (Barb’s Koigu Ruffle) I have been collecting my leftovers as well as those of friends who have been willing to part with theirs, knowing that one day I would find the perfect project to fulfill all of my Koigu dreams. That day has come!

Browsing Ravelry one evening not long ago I came across the Knitted Patchwork Recipe by Martine Ellis. I had tested a few mitered square blanket patterns before, but this one seemed to have the smoothest seams and the squares were the perfect size. I jumped out of bed, grabbed my stash of Koigu bits, and started knitting! And knitting. I couldn’t stop! One square led to a another and another until it was so late that I could no longer pick-up stitches properly and had to give in to sleep.

The next night, with as much enthusiasm, I continued to pick-up and knit, pick-up and knit, pick-up and knit, until I realized that I might want to stop and sew in those pesky little ends once in a while to avoid having a monster job at the end! My ends are still not quite as sewn-in as I would like them to be because, honestly, knitting a square is so much more fun.

As I continued to knit along I thought surely there must be others like me who would enjoy transforming their new or leftover yarns into this beautiful blanket.

If you are one of these knitters, then please join us for the:

MITERED SQUARE PATCHWORK BLANKET WORKSHOP
Friday January 29th, 6 pm – 9 pm  
Cost $45
Call 514-486-5648 to register.

With your registration you will receive a grab bag containing 10 mini-skeins of fingering weight yarn to get you started and during the workshop we will guide you through this wonderfully creative process.  We will teach you how to make each of the squares and how to pick up the stitches to attach them all together as you go. We will look at color choices and help you decide what colors will tie everything together and make your blanket pop!

koigu_minis2

There will also be additional grab bags for sale during the event.

If you would prefer to knit this up in something heavier, this ‘recipe’ will work with any weight of yarn, you can even mix and match textures as long as your yarns are all of the same weight (i.e. sport, dk, worsted, etc.).  You are welcome to bring your leftover yarn to the workshop along with a few possible needle sizes so that you can play with gauge.  I am using a 4.0 mm needle (two 8” dpns since there are, at most, 32 stitches on the needle at any time) for my fingering weight version since I am a tight knitter and this is the texture that I like best with Koigu.

The Knitted Patchwork Recipe is available in both English and French and can be downloaded from Ravelry for free.

As a last note it is worth mentioning that this project does not have to become a blanket! You can stop at a cushion cover, a table runner, a baby blanket, a lap blanket, a shawl … you just keep motoring along until you decide that you are done!

Looking forward to sharing this process with you!

Pictures of my blanket in progress below.

– Lisa

patchwork_koigu4

patchwork_koigu2

patchwork_koigu3

5 thoughts on “Mark your Calendars: Mitered Square Patchwork Blanket Workshop – January 29th

  1. Barbara Shuster says:

    Happy New Year everyone! I very much want to participate! I’m out of town until Saturday, the 9th. Can you put me on the list and I will either call or pass by to pay. Thank-you…I’m very exited!
    Barbara Shuster

  2. Barbara Geerkens says:

    I was excited to receive the email with the mitred blanket, it is so beautiful and wish I was in Montreal so could attend the class!

    I have done six mitred afghans in the past few years but none as beautiful as yours! You might be interested in looking at Knitting at Knoon free patterns and threes is Avery beautiful one made with Noro silk garden and it is so well explained with deatiled diagrams and as it is done on point so to speak there are details on doing the patches on each side and also to fill in the triangles for the edge if desired. Worth a look and hope it is still on line. thanks for sharing this with us, regards Barbara Geerkens

  3. susan ralph says:

    I would LOVE to do this workshop. If is ever offered NOT on Friday evening could you please let me know. Thanks Susan Ralph

Leave a Reply

