Measure Twice – Knit Once!

From the title of this post I am sure that many of you can already guess the gist of this story, however, let me begin from the beginning!

After 18 years of comfortably living in a borough a little west of Espace Tricot, my family and I decided that it was time to take the plunge and move into a vibrant city “quartier” with cafés, bistros, shops, and amenities all within walking distance. It was a decision long in the making and now finally realized!

With our new place I was itching to create a calm interior design plan that included a variety of textures and functional pieces that did not overwhelm our small space and that could accommodate our friends and family. Melissa served as my sounding board with texts, photos, e-mails and phone calls crossing the border at all hours of the day and night!

Once we were settled it was time to make the really, really important decision … what type of throw should I knit for my sofa! I drove our staff crazy for a few days going back and forth between the pattern, yarn and colourways!

Finally we all agreed on a simple garter throw since I already had a cabled one on the go which was the wrong colour, and my never ending Koigu mitered square blanket which has too many ends that I still need to sew in! We also decided that Madelinetosh Tosh Chunky was the perfect cozy yarn and “Candlewick” with a thick band of “Paper” would fit with my colour scheme.

1

Now with the big decisions behind me it was time to get going, and who has time to swatch?! So based on the Color Tipped Scarf Melissa knit, I loosely established my gauge on hers and got started.

As I was almost through my third skein I had that nagging feeling that the blanket would be too wide and that I would not have enough yarn to finish my project. With my trusty Shiro measuring tape in hand, I measured and re-measured on my sofa, on my table, on my floor. Then I added an extender and another cord to my Addi Click needles to get the true size and measured and re-measured with my husband’s industrial measuring tape. I calculated and re-calculated, on paper, with my calculator, on my ipad. I toyed with the idea of changing the direction of the knitting and turning it into a log cabin blanket, I went online to see if I could buy yarn from another store!

2

In the end there was no avoiding it, I would have to live with an odd size throw or… So just after midnight I began ripping and ripping, and here I am back on track with 25 sts less per row and ready (resigned?) to begin again!🙂

–  Lisa

3

2 thoughts on “Measure Twice – Knit Once!

  1. chrisyrogerson says:

    I think we have all been there, I know I have! But you would never have been happy with the result if you had continued, so good for you on taking the plunge! I’m look forward to seeing the end result !

Leave a Reply

