Summer Loving

Back to school is right around the corner and that means that Fall knitting fever is slowly creeping back into my mind and my fingers! After all the wonderful comments and advice I received about my “Coming Clean” blog post I was inspired to finish some of those summer projects so that I could begin the Fall season renewed, inspired, and guilt free! It felt great to knock off a few projects and to be able to share the fruits of my labour with our customers.

The Itaca was my first accomplishment and I am still so in love with Jade Sapphire Sylph. I have come to understand that I really appreciate yarn that is soft and luxurious yet has structure and good bones behind it!

summer_loving2

My second, and I would say biggest accomplishment, was the Wrapped in Lino Shawl that I designed. It is similar to Kigali Nights, however it is all in stockinette with equally sloped edges and is wider and longer. With this project I ended up on such a roll that I knit too much to be able to finish my short row section and had to back track! Two skeins of Handmaiden Lino later, our latest Espace Tricot design is available in both English and French as a free pattern for all to enjoy!

summer_loving1

Lastly, I took my Madelinetosh Chunky blanket on our family summer camping trip as I knew I needed to be trapped in the passenger side of our car in order to finish the miles of garter stitch that I needed to do! Our car was packed with all of our gear yet I found a way to squeeze in my large project bag! Low and behold I bound off just as we were crossing the Champlain bridge back into Montreal two weeks later! It has now found a cozy place on our sofa waiting for cold winter nights to return😉

summer_loving3

With a great feeling of satisfaction and a renewed desire to create I am ready to launch myself into new Fall projects. I am once again inspired by colour and texture and just might dive into one of Stephen West’s briochevron patterns just for me! Though I am also toying with the idea of making a blanket version of the Seafaring Scarf by Purl Soho that we knit in Drops Cloud…

seafaring_6

In the meantime, I am just about ready to publish a new baby blanket pattern knit with Rowan Baby Merino Silk DK and am working on a square shawl using Anzula Cloud. Thanks to Mona, who graciously agreed to knit the baby blanket and work out the kinks of the pattern, it will be available sooner rather than later. As for my square shawl pattern, let’s hope that it will not go the way of the dodo bird and that I will have the stamina to make it to the end, lol😉

Upon reflection it seems that I am destined to knit long, simple, and luxurious projects!!!

–  Lisa

Leave a Reply

