BLANKETS ON MY MIND

It seems that I’ve been on a bit of a blanket kick lately and there appears to be no stopping me at the moment!  With every new yarn that comes into the store, visions of knitted blankets dance in my head! The only drawback to this new love affair is that my desire for wooly warmers far exceeds the time I have to produce them. Nonetheless I forge ahead and keep the dream alive!

A few weeks after I finished my Madelinetosh Chunky Blanket, I resurrected a cable blanket that I am designing as an Espace Tricot pattern with Rowan Pure Wool Worsted. When I showed it to my husband he said it reminded him of an Aran sweater. Since my intention was to create a blanket that reminds you of a cozy knit that you want to wrap yourself in on a cold winter’s night – mission accomplished!

rowan_blanket

This then got me thinking that I could take my favourite scarf patterns and turn them into blankets as well. The first one that came to mind was Purl Soho’s Seafaring Scarf, which we knit up as a store sample, so as soon as our recent Garnstudio order came in, I jumped on a bag of Drops Cloud in Wheat and no sooner was I home than I cast on 111 sts on a 10.0 mm needle and I was on my way!

seafaring1

seafaring2

My next “Coup de Coeur” is the Guernsey Wrap by Jared Flood, which I knit a few years ago and may transform into a blanket using either Blue Sky Fibers Woolstok, Rowan Hemp Tweed or Quince & Co. Owl!

guernsey2

Lastly, Rivage by Julie Hoover has been in my queue for quite a while and might just become a throw for our home office. I’m thinking that Fine Donegal from Debbie Bliss would be a perfect match – if a marathon knit!

fine_donegal

Do you have a favourite pattern or stitch motif that you’ve been coveting? If so, allow yourself to be inspired and take a stab at designing your own blanket, scarf, shawl or accessory! Choose a fabulous yarn, and let your heart sing, your mind dream, and your fingers fly🙂.

As we say in French, ‘Oser’! – have the courage to try something new, to put yourself out there. Be bold!

–  Lisa 

Leave a Reply

