Family Slippers!

img_2092

I got it in my head recently that we all needed slippers.  A pair for Tristan had been on my list since before Christmas but all good intentions fell by the wayside in January as we enjoyed a mild winter here in New Jersey and more exciting projects jumped ahead in the queue.  One little snowfall last week, though, and it became imperative (at least in my mind) that we all have cozy new house “shoes”.  I wound up some Quince & Co. Osprey in Honey and cast on Simone A.’s brilliantly simple (and free) pattern appropriately titled “Simple House Slippers” and finished Tristan’s pair in no time.  I’m now halfway through my pair in the Audouin colourway and will wrap up this family project with a much larger pair for Johannes in Sabine. If I had been thinking, I would have knit his pair first and gifted them to him for Valentine’s Day but, well, nope.

Osprey is a cushy, comfy, 3-ply Aran-weight yarn spun from fluffy wool fleece. I’m knitting the yarn at quite a dense gauge on 4.5 mm(US 6) needles for a sturdy fabric that’s both comfortable and hard-wearing.  One skein is enough for a range of average foot sizes – Tristan wears a size 9 men’s and there was enough left for at least another size up. My husband wears a size 12, though, and his will need to be wider as well as longer so part of a second skein may be required. Watch this space for an update!

  Melissa

fullsizerender

2 thoughts on “Family Slippers!

Leave a Reply

