New project: Light Turtleneck Sweater

img_2110

Although this project isn’t a store sample (it’s all mine), it ranks high on the “favourite things I’ve knit for myself” list and so I feel its worth blogging 🙂 The pattern is the Light Turtleneck Sweater by Anna & Heidi Pickles – a straighforward raglan style that is quick and simple to knit and easily customizable. The turtleneck, extra long sleeves, and fluffy halo of the fabric all appealed to me and, after a little process of weighing all my options, I decided to knit this with the very affordable Drops Alpaca (colour #7895) stranded with the very luxurious Shibui Silk Cloud (colour Field). The fabric created by the blend of alpaca with silk and mohair is deliciously warm and light with enough structure that I have confidence the sweater will retain its shape over time.  I opted for a much shorter body length than called for in the pattern and love the juxtaposition of this length with the longer sleeves which actually come partway down the hand. Modern, casual, and chic – I look forward to making another one or two of these in different colours to round out my turtleneck wardrobe!

Click here to see additional photos and project details on our Ravelry page.

SHOP Drops Alpaca in our webstore.
SHOP Shibui Silk Cloud in our webstore.

–  Melissa

img_2115

img_2112

2 thoughts on “New project: Light Turtleneck Sweater

  1. Dana says:

    Absolutely GORGEOUS sweater !!!
    I see you followed directions for the L, what size would your sweater be considered?
    Thanks so much for sharing this one.
    Dana

    • espacetricot says:

      Hello Dana,

      Melissa followed the directions for size L, but knit at a tighter gauge. She got 15 sts per 4″, the pattern asks for 13. As I don’t know what the measurements for the original L in the pattern is, I am guessing it is about a generous M.

      Best,
      Mona

Leave a Reply

