Christmas is today, right?

This is the question my three year old daughter asked pretty much from American Thanksgiving to December 1st when interest tapered off a bit with the introduction of the Advent Calendar and the little bag she gets to open every day.  It’s all Curious George’s fault who she saw in “A very Monkey Christmas” on PBS and, of course, all the decorations everywhere. Strangely enough this enthusiasm was contagious and I found myself in the basement looking for all the ornaments and twinkle lights at the end of November.

I do like Christmas, but having a daughter who seems to enjoy it so much more with all the trimmings and dressings (We do get a tree, Mommy? Today? ) all of a sudden made me want to do more, too. In this case I felt the urge to knit ornaments. For the tree, you know. I have no idea where that came from, since I usually don’t knit things like that. But there you go, I wanted to knit some. And I did.

You can find the pattern here.

The best thing about these little baubles is that they take only a few metres of yarn (about 10 grams each of the Berroco Lustra I used) and you could use up those odds and ends of worsted weight yarn I know accumulate in every knitter’s stash. I went for the traditional Christmas theme of  red, green and white, though I do think they look great in any colour. Knock yourself out with your own designs – there are countless possible combinations of stripes, colourwork, and what I like to call embroidery but is really just weaving some thread in a pleasing manner.

Try it – I bet you  won’t be able to stop after just one. I couldn’t!

– Mona

7 thoughts on “Christmas is today, right?

  1. carol says:

    They are adoreable…I would like to post this pattern and picture over on my blog. Is that ok?
    I love to share the joy when I find free patterns for really cute things like these!

  2. Beatrice Legere says:

    I would like more specifics on how to do the pattern with the white squiggles up the side. Are the squiggles added on after, or part of the pattern? Thank you. I’ve done 3 baubles already and I love them.

    • Mona says:

      Hello Beatrice,

      I can only assume with ‘squiggles’ you mean the diagonal stripes in white on red?
      They are worked in the six rows without increases or decreases, where the pattern says: knit 6 rnds even.
      Round 1: *k2 red, k2 white; rep from * to end of round
      Round 2: k1 red, *k2 white, k2 red; rep from * to last st, k1 red
      Round 3: *k2 white, k2 red; rep from * to end of round
      Round 4: k1 white, *k2 red, k2 white; rep from * to last st, k1 white
      Work round 1 and 2 once more.

      I hope that helps,
      Mona

    • Mona says:

      Hi there –

      Thank you for your interest in my pattern. I just clicked on the link myself and get to the pattern without trouble. Please do try again – it might take a few seconds for the pdf to load.

      Best,
      Mona

Leave a comment