On the needles…

Getting Groovy with Shibui

groovy_needles

(Photos: L – butterfly67 / R – JumperCables)

I’ve just cast on a new project and I’m loving it so much I thought I’d give a little sneak peak today. Lisa has already knit the Groovy by Annie Lee Designs twice and, while I’ve always really liked the shape and construction of this shawl / scarf, I didn’t feel compelled to knit it until I had the idea to pair two of Shibui’s exquisite laceweight yarns – Silk Cloud (silk + mohair) and Pebble (cashmere + merino + recyled silk). I’ve now knit the first few repeats (see below) and the fabric produced by the combination of these yarns is incredibly luxurious – soft and light with beautiful structure and sheen.  My plan is to add a contrast stripe at the very end with the Brass colourway like butterfly67 (photo – top left). Project details will follow after Christmas but if anyone is interested in trying this over the holidays, I’m knitting with 4.5 mm needles and one strand of each yarn held together (I tend to be a tighter knitter). Stay tuned for “after” photos in the new year!

groovy_progress

We’ve just received a new shipment from Shibui so we’re all stocked up with both of these lovely yarns.

– Melissa

3 thoughts on “On the needles…

  1. Arlene says:

    This looks just scrumptious Melissa! When you have a chance could you tell me how many skeins of each yarn you need?

    Thanks!
    Arlene

  2. Lynne Clark says:

    I’m trying to get your version of groovy shibui with pebble and silk cloud
    I adore your patterns and work in a shop in vt but am cdn so sendbMontreal friends your way ! amazing shop! THank you !!

Leave a comment