What we’re knitting

Lisa and I have been posting little snaps of our works in progress over on Instagram lately – here are a few things we worked on over the weekend. What are you knitting / crocheting these days?


Antler Mittens by Tin Can Knits

image1

I worked on a pair of Antler Mittens from Tin Can Knits – a beautiful pattern which I’ve long been wanting to knit. As with everything from Tin Can Knits, the pattern is clear and well-written and a pleasure to work from. Although I didn’t manage to finish mine this weekend, these are definitely quick, immediate gratification kind of knitting – a great palate cleanser after larger or more complicated patterns.  I don’t know about you but the fact that I can start with a ball of yarn in the morning and a few hours later have something wearable never ceases to amaze me.  Knitting is magical  🙂

The densely knit mitten liners Mona gave me last year are a perfect fit for these and add all the necessary additional warmth I need when the temperature really takes a turn. The fact that they’re removable means that I can rotate them through different pairs of pretty hand knit mittens all winter.  If you’re interested in knitting yourself a pair of liners, Mona has written up the pattern and made it available as a free PDF download on Ravelry. Thanks, Mona!

I’m knitting the Antler Mittens with Madelinetosh Tosh Chunky in Silver Fox (1 skein) and the liners were knit with Tosh Merino Light in Grasshopper (1 skein). A dreamy combo.

image2


Hat by Erika Knight

lisa_hat2

Lisa spent part of her weekend whipping up an awesome new hat for her son, Gianluca. This pattern is actually from a Regia pamphlet (Journal 610, Jazz Colours by Erika Knight) that contains three great patterns for fingering weight yarns including the hat, a pair of socks, and a set of fingerless mittens.  A quick look on Ravelry tells me that these are only available in the pamphlet form and not for electronic download. We have 5 copies in stock at the store if you’re interested. That said, the Basic Beanie pattern from Paton’s is very similar and is available as a free PDF on Ravelry.

Lisa knit this one up with Scrumptiouspurl Stripe Me Up sock yarn in the Lemon Sour colourway. We’re low on stock at the moment but should be receiving a delivery soon!

lisa_hat1

–  Melissa

3 thoughts on “What we’re knitting

Leave a comment