Comfort Cloud: Free pattern!

comfort_cowl1

Last weekend, in between knitting hats for 25,000 Tuques, I decided to cast on a cowl in one of my new favourite yarns. DROPS Cloud is a deliciously light blend of baby alpaca and cozy merino wool. It’s classified as a “blown yarn”, meaning that the alpaca and merino fibers are blown into a tube; items knit with yarns created in this way are about 30-35% lighter than those made with conventional spun yarns of the same thickness. DROPS Cloud feels perfectly soft and comfortable against the skin and is totally itch-free! Ideal for blankets, big scarves, shawls, and thick sweaters.

This is such a simple project, it’s hardly worth writing up as a formal pattern.
Here’s all you need to know:

COMFORT CLOUD COWL

Materials:
2 balls of DROPS Cloud
1 set of 9 mm, 16″ circular needles

Pattern:
Cast on 64 sts and join to knit in the round.
Every round: *k2, p2, repeat from * (in other words, 2×2 ribbing)
Work until cowl is 17″ tall (finished circumference is between 18″ and 19″)
Cast off loosely in pattern.

Enjoy!

Buy DROPS Cloud online.

–  Melissa

comfort_cowl2

comfort_cowl3

comfort_cowl4

comfort_cowl15

20 thoughts on “Comfort Cloud: Free pattern!

    • espacetricot says:

      Hello Marti,

      Thank you for your interest in our pattern! Since I cannot see your knitting, I will have to guess what is going wrong.
      There are only a few possibilities, so here goes:
      – You might have cast on an uneven number of stitches by mistake, then the 2×2 rib does not work – it needs to be a multiple of four
      – While knitting you might have not knit 2 or purled 2 – and then the pattern is offset.

      Good luck with your project and happy 2017!

      Best,
      Mona

  1. tishacullen says:

    Is this the same cowl featured in your second Podcast??? I love how it fit “tight” I too like that feeling and was excited for the pattern to come 🙂

    • espacetricot says:

      Hi Tisha,

      This is a different cowl. I think Lisa is still working on the cowl to go with her On the C Train hat. I am sure once she is done there will be a proper announcement on the blog!

      All the best for 2017,
      Mona

  2. Gabrielle says:

    Can I do this pattern on regular knitting needles, size 14 nor circle needle? Im in love with this cowl! Thank you for posting!

    • espacetricot says:

      Hi Gabrielle,

      We try to make our patterns as easy as it gets, meaning for this cowl you cast on, knit, bind off and sew in some ends, that is it – because it is knit in the round. I wouldn’t say we are lazy, but if sewing can be avoided, we certainly often choose not to sew…. 😉

      I don’t see why you would not be able to use straight needles, but please consider that there will be a seam, since you need to close the piece into a round.

      Concerning the flat construction: please cast on two more stitches that you will need for the seam, so you get the 2×2 rib effect all around.

      Best,
      Mona

      • Gabrielle says:

        Thank you soooo much Mona! I might invest in circle nedles so i can make this easier on myself too lol Thank you for responding!

      • Gabrielle says:

        this would be a size 16 circle needle? sorry im new to knitting, just wanted to make sur ei get the right one lol

  3. Dia says:

    Hi Mona,
    I love this cowl and plan to knit it asap. With that being said, can this cowl be made with larger needles (8 or 9mm)? Using chunkier yarn of course. If so, how many stitches should be cast on?
    Thank you

    • espacetricot says:

      Hi Dia,

      Our cowl is actually knit on a 9.0 mm needle (US 13) – the Drops Cloud counts as a super chunky yarn. If you want to use even bigger yarn, I recommend to subtract stitches in increments of 4, depending on your guage.

      I hope this helps,
      Mona

  4. allaboutjingles says:

    I don’t have 16 circular needles but I have 15 and 17. Can I use either of these needles with this yarn and, if so, would I be adding or subtracting the number of stitches????

    • espacetricot says:

      Hello there –

      The size of the circular needles we used is a US13, 16″ in length. It needs to be short since the circumference of the cowl is small. No adding or subtracting stitches necessary.

      I hope that helps!
      Mona

  5. Shari says:

    Love this cowl. Drops cloud is out of stock in the color I want. Can I use Drops Wish instead? Weight: BULKYYardage: 70 M / 76 YPut Up: 50 GNeedles: 9 MM (US 13)Gauge: 10 M PAR 10 CM / 4″

    using this yarn, do I cast on the same amount?

Leave a comment